How many months do I need to have left on my passport? Everything you need to know before traveling

You might think that you can just get on a plane with an up-to-date passport and travel the world. In fact, many countries require visitors to have months on their passport before it expires.

Some, including Australia, Canada, and the US, only require your travel document to be valid for the duration of your trip.

But others give a more restrictive time frame, with no real pattern from region to region, while most of Asia requires six months on your passport, for example different Caribbean islands require different time frames.

In some destinations, you can also get stuck by not having enough room in your passport for new immigration stamps.

Here are the key UK passport validity rules for the world’s top holiday destinations.

Valid for the duration of your stay.

These countries only ask that your passport be valid until the day you leave the country.

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • barbados
  • Canada*
  • Chili
  • Gibraltar
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Mauricio
  • Mexico
  • Tunisia
  • St. Lucia
  • USA

*While this is technically the rule for Canada, if you have six months or less on your passport, it may take longer to get through immigration.

valid for one day

Costa Rica requires Brits to have one day of validity from the day of their departure.

Valid for one month/30 days

New Zealand requires that your passport be valid for one month from the date of departure.

South Africa requires that you have 30 days remaining on your passport from the date of departure, but six months or more is highly recommended. You should also have two blank pages for immigration stamps.

Valid for two months

Cuba requires that you have a passport with two months validity from your date of departure.

Valid for three months

All EU countries, plus those in the Schengen area (excluding Ireland), require that you have three months left on your passport from the day you plan to leave. Your passport must also be less than 10 years old on the day you enter the country. This is true for the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • luxembourg
  • malt
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Swiss
  • Vatican City

These non-European countries also require a validity of three months on the day of your departure:

  • British Virgin Islands
  • french polynesia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Lebanon
  • Morocco
  • Meeting
  • South Korea
  • Uzbekistan

valid for six months

In most cases, this means validity for six months from the date of arrival in the country, but it’s worth checking the individual Foreign Office entry requirements for the country you’re visiting to make sure.

  • Old and bearded
  • The Bahamas
  • Belize
  • bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Cambodia
  • Porcelain
  • Colombia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador (and Galapagos Islands)
  • Egypt
  • fiji
  • Jordan
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Kenya
  • Laos
  • Madagascar*
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Namibia*
  • Nepal
  • north cyprus
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vietnam

*Madagascar and Kenya also require that you have two blank pages in your passport. Namibia requires a blank page.

Valid for 180 days

India requires a more specific validity of 180 days from the date of arrival. It also asks visitors to have two blank pages available for their visa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.