What does the last seen status mean in WhatsApp

  • The “last seen” message in WhatsApp tells you how long it’s been since that user logged in.
  • If your status says “online”, it means that you are using WhatsApp at the moment.
  • You can use the Privacy menu to change who can see your “last seen” message.

Many websites and apps have “last seen” features, and they all serve a similar purpose: to let you know who’s an active user and who hasn’t thought of the app in months.

What does ‘last seen’ mean on WhatsApp

If you’re in a one-on-one conversation with someone on WhatsApp, you might see a message at the top of your screen that says Last seen on. This message shows you the last time the person you are chatting with logged into WhatsApp.

If they logged in on the last day, it will tell you the exact time they last used WhatsApp. If it’s been longer than that, it will give you the full date.

The state

You’ll find the state below their name.

Goal; William Antonelli/Insider


On the other hand, if you just say Online, it means that the user is connected to WhatsApp at that moment. and if he says Typingit means they are writing you a message.

While this feature is useful for keeping tabs on your friends, it can also be more information than you’re comfortable sharing. If that’s the case, you can disable your own “last seen” status.

How to turn off ‘last seen’ on WhatsApp

This setting will change who can see your “last seen” status. Just keep in mind that if you turn off your own “last seen” status, you won’t be able to see other users’ statuses either. You have to share your own status to see anyone else’s.

one. Open WhatsApp and touch Settings in the lower right corner (iPhone) or tap the three points in the upper right corner and select Settings (Android).

two. Play Billand later Privacy.

3. Select the last seen option and choose who can see your status: Everyone, my contactseither No one.

The privacy settings menu in WhatsApp.

Tap “Last Seen” at the top.

Goal; William Antonelli/Insider


It will be saved as soon as you choose an option.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.